My Top 10 Favorite Things

1722Kristie_Craig

I know Oprah might have the market cornered on the “My Favorite Things,” (and if you don’t know what I’m talking about, go here) but since the holidays are sneaking up very, very secretly on us (or not so secretly if you’ve been talking to my kids!) I thought I’d give a little glimpse into what gets me inspired both at home and when I’m working.

1. Freshly Popped Popcorn
I’m talking actual kernels popped in one of those fancy air poppers or a Whirley Pop (yes, that’s actually what they’re called). Something about the homey smell and the buttery, salty taste makes me want to curl up and pop in a movie. Plus, they’re an ideal snack for everyday, or as a cute little appetizer at weddings.
2. Volunteering + Community building
Giving back is a huge part of my life and my business. I help out with Thrive’s Girls for a Change Conference which teaches girls in our community new skills through a series of daylong workshops. It’s super important to me as a business owner to give back to my community and to ensure its success by investing into it through mentorship, financial contributions, or volunteering.
3.  Food and Wine
In the event you are looking for the ingredients for my perfect winter evening, here they are: homemade soup + a little wild game + a juicy glass (or two) of vino + my family around the dinner table.
4.  Small Town Living
It’s true that my office and client work is mostly done in Bozeman (with a whopping 40,000 people), I actually live and raise my kids in Ennis (population: 838). That means I get to wave at my kids’ teachers at the grocery store, run into my best friends weekly, and can attend any community event without being anxious that I might not know anyone (in fact, I’ll likely know everyone!) Small towns aren’t for everyone, but I can’t imagine living any other way.
5.  Textiles + Fabric
Some people buy more shoes than they can wear; I buy more bolts of fabric than I can ever make into things. But something about them all lined up by color and texture makes me swoon. Plus, I cut them out for inspiration boards for weddings, so not all is lost, right?
6.  Dates with my Husband
After a million years of marriage (okay, only 15), we still have regular date nights and even sneak in a no-kids trip every now and then. (If he asks, New York City is on my “dates in the near future that I’d love to go on” list 🙂
7. Walks or Road Trips with my Kiddos
I have two really, really gorgeous kiddos, ages 9 and 7. Sometimes, our weeks are so rushed from swim lessons, to gymnastics, to homework, and playdates. Which is why I take the time to use those in between moments (car rides or little hikes after school) to help them decompress. They’ve proved to teach me SO much about what my kids think and how they view the world. They blow me away practically everyday with how much they know about themselves and the world around them. It’s crazy!
8.  National Parks
Fortunately, we practically live in the backyard of Yellowstone, and I get to Glacier at least once a year for weddings or just to vacation. But no matter how often I visit, I love driving or hiking through our national park system and discovering different paths, drives or views that I’ve never seen before.
9.  Speaking of “National,” the National Anthem(s)
One of the little known facts about me is that I am a trained singer (and even met my husband singing at a wedding!). An even littler known fact is that I once sang the American national anthem AND the Canadian national anthem in front of 5000 fans for a Spokane Chiefs hockey game. Ask me about it sometime (and if I’ve had a glass of wine, I might even sing it!)
10.  Musical Theater
Broadway, show tunes, and Bette Midler. Need I say more? (PS If you’re ever driving past me on Main Street, feel free to give a honk. If I don’t honk back, it’s probably because I’m doing a little “car-aoke.”)
Okay, your turn! What are your favorite things?
Leave a Reply

